Insomnia

Hello again!  It is the wee hours and I can’t sleep.  I usually get some writing done when that happens, so its all good. 

I joined an online critique group this week, and I got back my first critique.  I was pleased — I didn’t get ripped to shreds.  Of course, I don’t know if she was just being nice because I’m new!  It was very enlightening.  There are so many things that she said editors like/dislike, and I had no idea.  I’m going through and changing my poor baby manuscript to incorporate her ideas, and I think it will be much stronger.

The flip side of getting things done while I can’t sleep is that sometimes things look so bleak in the wee hours.  I just don’t know if I will ever get published.  I don’t know if my stories make any sense, if they are interesting enough for someone to want to read them, if I can actually write worth a darn.  I know I can’t look at someone’s writing and say, “Honey, keep your day job.”  So I have to assume no one feels that they can say that to me.  Even if I deserve it.

I wish I could go back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

