New Year, New Goals

Well, hi there kiddos!  Has been a good year so far.  Yeah, I know, it is only 2 days old, but I think we are on a roll here!

I went to the Gulf Coast RWA meeting today, and I have to say, those chix are truly the best!  We practiced pitches, planned our conference (Come to the Silken Sands Conference 3/19-21/10!!!!) and generally had fun.

After GCCRWA, the six S0uthern Sizzlers (check our blog: http://www.southernsizzleromance.com!!!) went to Barnes and Noble for our semiregular when-we-can meeting.  If GCCRWA members are the best, what can I say about the Sizzlers? They are the best of the best, the cream o the crop, truly wonderful women with whom I have formed the greatest of friendships! We talked about everything from sexy men to ghosts, from writing queries to sexy men,  to raising kids/grands to sexy men, from research websites to sexy men . . . .  Well, you get the idea.

I am truly blessed to have these five women as my companions on this baffling and exciting journey to publication. They are each special individuals, but in combination, they are more than I can describe.  (Rita wasn’t able to be with us today, but she was there in spirit!)

SFCatty said today that she has belonged to a group that encourages each member to pick a word for the year.  I have decided that my word this year is “Grateful.”  I get really caught up in what I haven’t done, what I haven’t got, what might go wrong. But today I was talking to someone who put it all in perspective.  She said a few years ago, she got really upset about turning forty.  However, that year she was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Every birthday after that has been a blessing.

I have two beautiful, healthy girls, and a husband who loves me and those girls totally and completely. I have a job many people would envy, we own our home, we never go hungry (obviously, in my case!) I can’t even begin to name the blessings that I take for granted.

So, while I really want to publish my writing, and my job has things that make me nuts, and I wish I was independently wealthy, etc., etc., etc., I really have too much to be grateful for.  So “GRATEFUL” is the word for 2010.

Stop a minute — I bet you haven’t thought today of something you are grateful for. What is it?

Leave a Reply

