Living Too Much in the Seventies

Having already announced that I remember LBJ’s presidency, I can no longer deny that I was around for the Disco Era. Not only was I around, I was something of a Disco Diva back in the day. I had the polyester pantsuits, the Mr. Brady white-person afro (no, all pictures have been destroyed – I hope!) and, above all, the Candies shoes.

I’d like to invite all the ladies of a certain age to join me on a walk down memory lane – but be careful, you can break your ankle in those things! Do we all recall how hot we looked walking in them? Limping is such a good look for most of us. And I’m sure I wasn’t the only one whose toes went numb after a full evening at Big Daddy’s in my Candies.

So before you start making fun of guys in wife beaters and lowhung baggy pants or girls with blue hair, pull out that 1978 yearbook and take a look!

2 responses to “Living Too Much in the Seventies

  1. Bwahahaha! Okay, so I was just a kid in the 70’s, but that didn’t mean I wasn’t a victim of fashion. In fact, when I was 5 or 6 (around ’82), it was time for school pictures and my mom pulls out this…rhinestone bellbottom jumpsuit for me to wear for the pictures. *shudders* I cried…really cried for the first time when it came to what I wore. I hated bellbottoms and still do, but my mom thought the outfit was “cute”. I threw enough of a fit though, that I didn’t have to wear it. Thank God.

    • Lord, Danica — you were 5 or 6 in 1982?!?!?! I have clothes older than that (not that I can still fit into them!) I am literally old enough to be your mother, at least if I had been a more precocious teenager than I actually was.

      Let’s see, in 1982 I was an FSU sorority pledge wearing rhinestones and jumpsuits out to Big Daddy’s and Studebakers.(Sing with me: I’m a helluva date from Florida State. . .)

      As I said, I hope all the pictures have been destroyed.

Leave a Reply

