Ro’mama Reviews: My Lord Scandal by Emma Wildes

My Lord Scandal by Emma Wildes

Well, y’all don’t mind me. I’ll just sit over here in the corner, fanning myself. No, it’s not that I’m trying to show off my skills with a fan, although years of reading Regencies has given me the ability to say many things to an attractive gentleman with a mere flip of my wrist. This time, my handpainted ivory is being used for the purpose its maker intended, cooling me off.
Because, children, between the long summer here in Florida, and the new historical from Emma Wildes, it has been H*O*T chez moi lately. If there is one thing the reader can count on from Ms. Wildes, it would be several yummy, steamy love scenes per book. And My Lord Scandal, the first in her Notorious Bachelors series, does not disappoint on that front.
My Lord Scandal gives us the lovely Lady Amelia, who has earned the nickname “The Elusive Venus” during her London Season, based upon her reluctance to dance and her predilection for wandering off to quiet corners during social events. Of course, Amelia has a secret reason for her standoffishness – she suffers dreadfully from a respiratory ailment which limits her dancing in the heated, crowded ballrooms of the Ton.
Enter the rakish Lord Alex St. James, younger son of a Duke, who has been commissioned by his grandmother to recover a lost relic belonging to his family. Seems this item, the key to an unidentified lock, came into the possession of Amelia’s family several years ago as the result of a amorous liaison between Alex’s great-aunt and Amelia’s (married) grandfather. Deeply buried secrets, hidden motives and angst abound as Amelia and Alex join forces to seek the truth about the old scandal. Not to mention seeking opportunities to be alone in gardens, libraries, and other luxurious settings.
The story is a good one, with a few red herrings thrown in to make the mystery a bit less predictable than it could have been in the hands of some writers. I really did not suspect the person who turned out to be sending Amelia and Alex letters about the old scandal, and I was convinced that another character was somehow involved. Alas, she was no more or less than she appeared, and I feel bad for thinking ill of her.
There were some problems that pulled me out of the story. Some of the writing was a bit awkward, and I kept finding ways to rephrase or quibbling over word choice. I was bothered by some references to the heroine after her marriage as “Mrs. St. James”; as the wife of the younger son of a Duke, she would have been Lady Alexander. (I know, it sounds weird, but there you are. Works on the same theory that gave us Princess Michael of Kent.)
But I will forgive a multitude of sins for really good, well-written and believable love scenes, and at the end of the day, that is what Ms. Wildes delivers. My Lord Scandal, while it has its flaws, is a solid addition to her bookshelf.

One response to “Ro’mama Reviews: My Lord Scandal by Emma Wildes

  1. A word of clarification — Romama is an animal lover, and would never dream of owning a fan of real ivory. No elephants were harmed in the making of this blog.

Leave a Reply

