Let’s Stop Calling it Tunes-day

20111205-213903.jpg

I’ve found a wonderful new-to-me artist, and I’ve been listening to her non-stop over the past few days. Her name is Mozella, and if you like Adele, Nelly Furtado, or (dating myself) Janis Joplin, I suggest you give her a try.

Mozella is a Michigan native, but let’s not hold Yankee-ness against her. The girl can flat out sing. She started taking guitar lessons as a young teen, went to L.A. and London in search of her big break, and finally ended up signing with Madonna’s Maverick Records. You’ve probably heard her without realizing it – her music has been used in ads for BMW and Nivea, as well as in tv shows like Pretty Little Liars, One Tree Hill, Bones and Kate Plus 8. (Let’s don’t hold that last against her either.)

When I found her song Let’s Stop Calling it Love, I had to go back and add it to the soundtrack for the Chick-lit I recently finished. It was just too perfect for my heroine, a sweet small-town girl who falls for her perfect romantic hero, only to discover that he has way too much he’s keeping from her. If you’ve ever been a girl who trusted a guy more than you should have (and, hey, who hasn’t?), you’ll love the lyrics:

We are exactly what we are
Let’s disregard the talk
of where we’re at and where we’re
going.
Why pick it all apart?
It’s just my heart. It’s just my heart.
I started out with so much hope,
Now it’s turned into a joke.
I’ll play along, expect no promise,
But while we’re at it, let’s be honest.
Let’s stop calling it love.
Let’s stop calling it love.
We’re better off if I surrender.
I give in, you win. Whatever.

There’s more in the same vein, about how she was kidding herself and she doesn’t want to use “that word” again. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been there. I can only hope that my book’s big breakup scene and its aftermath caught just a bit of the resigned disappointment that Mozella sings so well.

Listen to Let’s Stop Calling it Love and let me know what you think. It’s one of my all-time favorites now.

Leave a Reply

