Tunesday: Sad Songs and Grunting Worms


Gonna do a little something different for our Tunesday today, kids. I’m getting started on a new Chick Lit, and as y’all know, one of the first things I have to do is come up with my playlist. The right songs get me into my writing mode like nothing else can, and I’m kind of at loose ends right now because I haven’t put one together. I’ve got the hero, the heroine, and the conflict straight in my mind, but I don’t have the mindset pulled together yet. The mood, you know?

For my recently published historical, PROOF OF LOVE, everything gelled once I found “We’re All Alone” by Boz Scaggs. Likewise, the first Chick Lit, HOLDING OUT FOR A HERO, came easy when I started listening to Rihanna’s “Take a Bow” and REO Speedwagon’s “Can’t Fight this Feeling.” The first one summed up how my heroine felt when the cad villain used and abused her, and the second song expressed perfectly the way the hero and heroine reacted to a friendship becoming something more.

So now, for my Chick Lit set at a fish camp in Northwest Florida, I need songs that talk about losing everything and starting over, about finding exactly what you want where you would never have thought of looking, and about grunting earthworms. If you know of a song about any or all of these, let me know. If I use it, I’ll be sure to give you a shout out in the dedications.

(BTW, if you don’t know about grunting worms, you are sadly uninformed, and you really should read my book when – not if! – it gets published. One of the highlights of my young redneck life was grunting worms.)

One response to “Tunesday: Sad Songs and Grunting Worms

  1. These don’t speak to finding something where you never thought to look, but these are on the songs that make me appreciate the mistakes and even the bad relationships that led me to the wonderful life I have today.
    Best of Everything-Tom Petty
    I Will Survive-Stephanie Bentley
    Heart of the Matter-Don Henley
    Starting Over-Cher
    Don’t give up-Eagle Eye Cherry

Leave a Reply

