RomanceMama Interviews: Dara Young

20120506-095118.jpg

Today Romancemama is pleased to welcome a fabulous voice in Historical Romance – the talented Ms. Dara Young, whose Wild Rose Press release, The CanCan Dancer and the Duke is now available. And since Ms. Young is a lot more interesting than little ol’ Ro’mama, let’s just jump right into it!

RM: Tell us about yourself – you know, the who, what, where and why.
DY:I was born in Lafayette, Louisiana, one of two children and grew up in Florida and Alabama. I later graduated from Auburn University Montgomery with a BS in Political Science and a minor in History.
My mother once asked me what I would do with a poly sci degree. At that moment I happened to have a romance novel in my hand, the author of which was a poly sci major. I quickly held it up and said, “Well, I can write romance novels!” How prophetic!
I specialize in configuration management, and I pursue my love of writing and history in my spare time.
I met my husband my first week living in New York City. While he does not share my love of books, he does support my writing wholeheartedly! We were married in November 2000, and now share a beautiful home in Southern California.
RM: And of course, we want to hear about your latest book.
The Cancan Dancer and the Duke is of course a love story. It’s about a girl who goes seeking adventure and ends up biting off a little more than she intended. At the same time she is keeping a secret that if revealed could ruin her whole world. The hero is just out for a good time but winds up finding a whole lot more.

RM: Everyone always wants to know where authors get their ideas, and I have to say that just reading your title, The Cancan Dancer and The Duke, gives us a hint at a fabulous story – I can’t wait to read it! What was the initial inspiration for your story?
The Cancan Dancer and the Duke (Cancan) was inspired by real life. See, I was a dancer in high school. One of my teachers choreographed a ballet based on the life of Toulouse Lautrec. He is famous for his posters of the French dance hall girls, in particular the ladies of the Moulin Rouge. His posters, and those of other artists like him, were used originally as advertisements for the dance halls. They were posted around Paris to entice spectators to the establishments. In the ballet, I got to dance a very tame version of the cancan…OMG! I had no idea how cardio deficient I was until I started rehearsing that piece. LOL!

RM: What’s the link to buy your book?

The Wild Rose Press
It will also be available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and All Romance eBooks among other online retailers very soon.

RM: What drew you to that genre?
Well, I have been a long time reader of historical romance. I am also a history buff, having minore din it in college and been born to a father who has his PhD in history.  It was kind of natural that I would write historical romance.

RM: What else do you have in the works?
I have a Superheroes paranormal romance I am working on. It is a full length title, and if it goes well I am planning it to be a four book series.

RM: Plotter, pantser, or a combination? How do you do the work of writing your story?
I am a hybrid writer. For sure. I do some light plotting and planning including an outline because I am a firm believer in beginning with the end in mind. But then I am open to where the journey takes me. Sometimes the characters really do know best. In the end, I almost always end up where I planned to, it’s just the journey isn’t always what I anticipated.

RM: What is your best writing advice for all the hopeful authors out there?
Put your butt in the chair and your fingers on the keyboard, if you aren’t actively writing you will never be published. If you can get past that hurdle, then comes the hard part. Send that baby out into the world. Submit, submit, submit! Of course, there is a lot more in between those steps, but if you can’t accomplish those two things, then go back to being a reader and enjoy. Because without readers, we couldn’t be writers. 

Thanks for stopping by to celebrate with me and remember to comment on each post during the blog tour for more chances to win! (Not sure what I’m talking about? Click here.)

The Cancan Dancer and the Duke
Can a lady on the lam and a duke on the make find love at the Moulin Rouge?
Cathedrals and museums are not Lady Charise Colton’s idea of European adventure. Turn-of-the-century Paris beckons, and she wants to grab it while she can…or rather, cancan. Flirting with fate and half of Paris, Charise eludes her chaperones and joins the cancan revue at the Moulin Rouge.
Ethan Greer, Duke of Lofton, is in Paris to settle some estate business. Chafing under his responsibilities, he discovers an enchanting distraction at the Moulin Rouge, a flirtatious dancer who stirs his lust and something more. He must have her—even if it means offering carte blanche.
Terrified of discovery, Charise tries to hold her persistent suitor at bay, though her heart has already surrendered. Will she lose him if he learns the truth, or is love enough to bind the cancan dancer and the duke?
Excerpt:
The singular sound was a soft whisper at first. The audience strained forward to catch even a note of the eerie melody carried on the fetid air of the cafe. As the song picked up, her voice grew stronger, the words more clear. Ethan relaxed into his seat and let the warm rich alto caress him. His body grew warm with the promises carried by the witch’s husky tones.
He remained unaware of anything in the room except the siren walking toward him. Each steady, unhurried step she took further drew him in. His gaze feasted on the curve of her hip, the swell of her breast. Ethan rode the knife’s edge between lust and propriety.
The song described, in lurid detail, two lovers in the throes of passion. Upon reaching him, the dancer propped the toe of her boot onto the edge of his seat—square between his thighs. The luscious creature presented impossibly sheer bloomers which hid everything and yet nothing, causing him to let out the breath he, until now, unknowingly held. His cock grew rigid, the uncomfortable throbbing causing him to shift. The desire to haul her into his arms and demonstrate every action she described with the most sensuous mouth he’d ever seen rode him hard. Her full lower lip begged for his kiss. Ethan wanted to see it slick and glowing pink from his attentions.
The wanton dancer continued to taunt him, but his good breeding won out. Forcing himself to stay seated, his fists balled and his jaw grew rigid with frustration, but his raging lusts remained leashed. The song ended, sending her into the nether regions of the cafe in a swirl of skirts.

Add it to my shelf at: GoodReads
Website
Facebook
GoodReads
Klout
Lady Jane’s Salon San Diego
LinkedIn
Pintrest
Twitloss
Twitter

6 responses to “RomanceMama Interviews: Dara Young

  1. This sounds like a fabulous book, Dara! I’ve just started reading historical romances and I love them. Adding this one to the list. 🙂

  2. Oh, Ms. Young, The Cancan Dancer and the Duke sounds amazing and what a beautiful cover. I can’t wait to read it.

  3. Thank you all for the kind words. I do hope you enjoy it!

  4. Great interview! I’m a hybrid plotter/panther myself, and it’s great to hear there are others out there who share that funky style!

    This sounds like a fantastic novel. I’ll definitely check it out!

  5. Ooh–I’m liking the superhero idea! Sounds like fun!

  6. @Susan – gotta do what works. 😀

    @ljcohen – I included an excerpt from that WIP in the interview I did for May 12th. Check it out for a sneak peek. 😀

Leave a Reply

