The Next Big Thing: Holding Out for a Hero

20130102-210909.jpg

My thanks to my incredible writing group buddy, Marci McGuire Jefferson of the SFWG, and her friend Anna Lee Huber for tagging me in The Next Big Thing blog game! Since I do, in my wild novelist fantasies, hope that my book will be a least “a thing” if not the next big one, I am extremely honored and pleased to be playing.

So, with no further ado, here are my answers to The Next Big Thing Blog Questions:

What is the working title of your next book?

Holding Out for a Hero

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

I started reading historical romance as a middle schooler, and I’ve fantasized about those dashing lords and rakish rogues all my life. When I decided to write a contemporary story, I wondered what it would be like if a romance-fixated modern woman met someone who seemed to be a modern-day Darcy. But as the story progressed, it turned out that the man of her dreams was a real nightmare! My poor heroine has to learn a few hard truths before she finds her happily-ever-after with a real-life hero.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

Humorous Southern women’s fiction

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I’ve always thought that Cassie, the heroine, looks a lot like Selena Gomez, although Cassie is a few years older James, the English hero-apparent, is a dead-ringer for Henry Cavill. But Mac, the good-old-boy cop from Cassie’s hometown, wasn’t based on an actor. He is a tall, buff red-head — think Prince Harry on a motorcycle. Since Prince Harry probably isn’t interested in a movie role, I’d settle for Eddie Redmayne, who played Marius in Les Miz.

5) What is the one-sentence description of your book?

“If Bridget Jones was a Southern Baptist”

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Agency (I hope!!!) If you know an agent, send them my way . . . .

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

5 months, maybe? Seriously, I hardly know, because I have written and edited and rewritten and reedited so many times. And I had other projects going on at the same time, so I wasn’t really keeping track.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Mary Kay Andrews’s books about Savannah, the books of the lovely Haywood Smith, and a bit of Fannie Flagg.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Men in cravats and breeches!

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Holding Out for a Hero has hunky men with British Accents, gorgeous good-old-boys in police uniforms, hot romance, violent crime, ethical scandals, and the First Baptist Church Women’s Missionary Union, bless their hearts! How can you not like that?

Again, my deepest thanks to Marci McGuire Jefferson and Anna Lee Huber. Stay tuned next week, for The Next Big Thing from Darlene Henderson and more!

2 responses to “The Next Big Thing: Holding Out for a Hero

  1. sounds like a great read!

  2. Wasn’t much a fan of British men in Breeches until Jillian turned me on to them (and we know she’s loved them FOREVER) so this does sound intriguing. Thanks for the tag.

Leave a Reply

