No Guilt! (Well, Maybe a Little ….)

Okay, I admit defeat. I started the year off with the best of intentions. I didn’t make any of those stupid “I’m going to lose 50 pounds, learn French, and completely organize my house” resolutions. I just said I would write my wordcount goal daily and blog three times a week.

Alas, even with such minimal expectations of myself, I have come up short. I will say (patting self on back) that I have met my wordcount goal about ninety percent of the time so far this year. But the blogging…..

Just a quick glance over the past few weeks will reveal my failure. Nope, I don’t blog three times in one week — one time in three weeks would come closer to being accurate. But I’ve decided not to beat myself up over it.

See, I now consider myself an author. I have a published novel, an agent who is submitting my two completed (and one partial) books to publishers, and I being successful in meeting my productivity goals there. I am also a lawyer with a pretty darn responsible job in a local governmental agency, and I get my work done there, no questions asked.

I have two daughters, one in college and one in high school, and I’ve been married for 29 years. I volunteer with the local historical society and we are active in our church.

In other words, people, I am doing my share. I would love to be a Constant Blogger, but if it comes to the choice between keeping up with my fiction-writing goals and typing up a couple of hundred random words for a blog, right now I think my time is best spent telling my stories.

So I’m going to stop feeling so darn guilty about the blog. I love making my opinions known, and I’m glad some of you are enjoying it. I’m certainly not saying that I’m giving it up. But I just don’t have the energy to feel guilty about it.

So that said, I really will try to post more often in the future! I hate not doing what I said I would!!!

One response to “No Guilt! (Well, Maybe a Little ….)

  1. I think of my blog as a window to the world of my writing… ❤

Leave a Reply

